MAGNOLIA GRANGE HOUSE  AND MUSEUM

Magnolia Grange House Museum offers events, programs and tours that will satisfy any age group.  Home Schools and Public Schools are encourage to arrange a trip to the County Museum. The last tour of the day at Magnolia Grange House and Museum begins at 1:00 p.m.

For more details or special tours, please call (804) 748-1498.

Unless otherwise noted, all Magnolia Grange programs are free, but reservations are required at least one week in advance. Our space is limited.

c. 1822 Magnolia Grange House Museum

“Magnolia Grange House Museum” is an elegant Federal period home built in 1822, named for the circle of magnolia trees that once graced its front lawns. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Magnolia Grange’s distinctive architectural features include elaborate ceiling motifs, a half-turn open carved stairway and hand-painted scenic wallpaper produced by Zuber, a French manufacturer.

The formal ground floor rooms exhibit intricately carved mantels, doorways and window frames. Upstairs, the rooms have been furnished according to the era of each of the families who lived in the home: Winfree (1822-1845), DuVal (1858-1876) and Perdue/Cogbill/Daffron (1880-1970). Almost demolished to make room for a shopping mall, Magnolia Grange was preserved in 1984 when the Chesterfield County Board of Supervisors authorized its purchase for $180,000.

The Chesterfield Historical Society pledged to raise $100,000 to furnish the home with appropriate antiques. The partnership resulted in a magnificent plantation house saved from the bulldozer and available to all to step back into time and relived the history of the families who occupied the historic home.

Today, Magnolia Grange House Museum interprets life at a 19th century Virginia country estate with tours conducted by trained docents. Popular events and programs include lectures, elegant teas, community festivals and a traditional Holiday Day Open House in December.

Magnolia Grange House Museum Virtual Tour

Magnolia Grange Notes

Virginia Emma Moody Cogbill

Step Back in Time: Discovering Chesterfield’s Historic Sites: Chesterfield County is steeped in history, and exploring its historic sites is like stepping back in time. Visit Magnolia Grange, a beautiful plantation house dating back to the 1820s, or explore the fascinating Henricus Historical Park, a living history museum that recreates the early English settlement. Chesterfield County Museum and Historic Jail provide further insights into the region’s past. Immerse yourself in the stories of the past and gain a deeper understanding of Chesterfield’s rich historical heritage. Pictured above are two seasonal views of the house museum and Virginia Emma Moody Cogbill (pictured left) and Marcus A. Cogbill.

The House Museum is not ADA accessible to the upper floor and only has a restroom on the second floor. However, ADA Standards do not apply to the house museum. While this may be a temporary setback, you can still access the home with a ramp from the rear of the house for a tour of the first floor which is is elegantly restored with period pieces. All visitors are welcome into our beautiful 19th century home.

Winfree Family (1822-1845)

The connection between Magnolia Grange and the Winfree family began in 1749 with the formation of Chesterfield County and the construction of its first courthouse. Nearby, the land, known as Cold Water Run, was patented by Valentine Winfree during the 1750s. Upon his death in 1795, Valentine’s estate of over 1,000 acres was inherited by his son Henry Winfree who owned a small mill on Swift Creek. He apparently inhabited a rather large single story frame house on the property.

When Henry died in 1803, he left his 1,400 acre plantation equally to his sons William and In 1822, William Winfree, his wife Lucy Bass Winfree and four children named William, Henry, Martha and Mary moved into their newly constructed Federal Period home which would eventually acquire the name Magnolia Grange around the time of the Civil War. A fifth child, Rosalie, was born in 1830. The cost of building the house was $6,000, and it appears that Lucy’s inheritance may have been the source of funds for its construction.

Winfree Family Reunion, 1890

William Winfree is known to have operated three businesses on the property. He raised various crops on the 635 acre plantation, including tobacco and cotton. There was also a grist mill for grinding wheat and corn. In addition, he operated a tavern on the property which was conveniently located across the road from the county courthouse. For those who needed to attend to court business, his tavern provided meals, accommodation and stables. An office on the first floor of the mansion, with its own entrance, provided a separate space that allowed William Winfree to attend to the daily operations of the farm, and to meet with buyers of his tobacco crop or with farmers wishing to have their corn or wheat ground in his grist mill. This gentleman was recognized by his contemporaries as an astute businessman. (Researched by Liess van der Linden-Brusse)

Please note: To maintain the historical integrity of the site, this property is not handicapped accessible. Programs are Free or unless otherwise stipulated. Reservations required for all programs. For more details, please call (804) 768-7311.